Understanding:Marvin Gaye’s “Here My Dear”

MI0001638449

I grew up in a house where classic 70s and 80s R&B would ring out at ignorant levels, so naturally I developed a fine taste for it. Because of my age I couldn’t really comprehend the lyrical content, but I appreciated the musicianship. As I have gotten older I have developed an understanding of one my favorites “Here My Dear” by Marvin Gaye.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here, My Dear is the fifteenth studio album by Marvin Gaye, released In December of 1978 the album was recorded at Gaye’s personal studios, Marvin Gaye Studios in Los Angeles, California. The album was recorded as an ode to the fallout of Gaye’s marriage to his first wife, Anna Gordy Gaye.

Marvin-Gaye-Here-My-Dear-Board-Game

Growing as a producer I became intrigued that the organic way he took a situation that can be very trying for some, and spent it into one of his greatest albums(IMO). Understanding his concept has made me become a better writer because now I write songs from a personal standpoint. The musicianship and the tone he set on this album was something spectacular. Thank you Marvin!

Leave a Reply

